Coordination Chemistry Inspires Molecular Catalysis (CCIMC): 15 PhD positions 2092 views

Coordination Chemistry Inspires Molecular Catalysis (CCIMC) is Marie Sklodowska-Curie Initial Training Network of the European Joint Doctorate (MSCA-ITN-EJD) project, running from March 1st 2020 until February 29th 2024 (4 years).

About the project and positions:
  • The CCIMC project brings together an academic/industrial consortium with complementary skills consisting of 9 beneficiaries and 10 partner organisations from 7 countries.
  • CCIMC will enrol 15 Early Stage Researchers (ESRs) who will receive scientific training in experimental and theoretical aspects of coordination chemistry and molecular catalysis as well as a wide set of transferable skills (chemical risks, scientific misconduct, IPR, knowledge transfer, ethics, time management, outreach communication, and more).
  • 15 post-graduate student positions are available starting October 2020, to obtain a double-degree from two different Universities in two different Countries.
  • Fundamental research in coordination chemistry is of crucial importance for the development of innovative molecular catalysis.
  • This EJD focuses on providing the skills needed for the future implementation of innovative catalysis through today’s cutting-edge fundamental exploration of coordination chemistry, which is guided by industrial interests and target applications.


  • Applicant must be in the first four years (full-time equivalent research experience) of your research career and have not been awarded a doctoral degree
  • Applicant must not have resided or carried out your main activity (work, studies, etc.) in the host country for more than 12 months in the preceding 3 years
  • Applicant must hold Master’s degree in Chemistry, plus a Bachelor’s degree in Chemistry (minimum 2:1 or equivalent grade)
  • Applicants who do not have English as their first language will need to meet or exceed the requirements for Chemistry PhD entry.
  • Broad knowledge and experience of Chemistry and of synthetic and analytical techniques and understanding of relevant health and safety practices
  • Ability to undertake academic research, organise own research activities to agreed deadlines and quality standards
  • Excellent IT and oral and written communication skills
  • Ability to provide support to staff and students and work as part of a team and independently using own initiative
  • Commitment to and enthusiasm for travel and studying overseas for long periods of time and in a variety of organisations
  • Interest in and enthusiasm for organometallic chemistry and catalysis

How to apply:

  • Apply online

Early Stage Researcher (ESR) Projects

ESR1. Olefin metathesis catalysts with high Z-selectivity. Co-directors: Vincent César (LCC), Karol Grela (UW). Secondment host: TEC.

ESR2. Design of efficient catalytic tools for a direct access to chiral amines. Co-directors: Cyril Godard (URV), Martine Urrutigoity (LCC). Secondment host: ITC.

ESR3. s-Block Metal-Mediated Hydroelementation. Co-directors: Agustí Lledós (UAB), Matthias Westerhausen (FSU). Secondment host: ITC.

ESR4. Development of supported catalysts for continuous flow asymmetric hydrogenation. Co-directors: Vasile Pârvulescu (UoB), Jérôme Durand and Karine Philippot (LCC). Secondment host: TEC.

ESR5. Metal-mediated C-F bond activation and C-F bond formation. Co-directors: Antoine Simonneau (LCC), John Slattery and Jason Lynam (UoY). Secondment host: ITC.

ESR6. Activation of carbon dioxide with highly Lewis acidic compounds. Co-directors: Matthias Westerhausen (FSU), Sébastien Bontemps (LCC). Secondment host: IFPEN.

ESR7. Photo-switchable phosphines for in situ modification of catalysts. Co-directors: Evamarie Hey-Hawkins (ULEI), Rosa Maria Sebastián (UAB). Secondment host: ESF.

ESR8. Polar substrates asymmetric hydrogenation and associated processes: role of the base. Co-directors: Simon Duckett, Jason Lynam and John Slattery (UoY), Rinaldo Poli (LCC). Secondment host: TEC.

ESR9. Biphasic catalysis with metal nanoparticles inside polymeric nanoreactors. Co-directors: Anders Riisager (DTU), Eric Manoury and Karine Philippot (LCC). Secondment host: IFPEN.

ESR10. Immobilization of NHC’s ligands in Janus Dendrimers. Catalysis in green solvents. Co-directors: Karol Grela (UW), Rosa Maria Sebastián (UAB). Secondment host: HIBSA.

ESR11. Selective hydrogenation of amides with supported transition metal nanoparticles. Co-directors: Anders Riisager (DTU), Karine Philippot (UAB). Secondment host: IFPEN.

ESR12. Carboranylphosphines meet dendrimers: Electron-deficient scaffolds for ligand design and applications in catalysis. Co-directors: Anne-Marie Caminade (LCC), Evamarie Hey-Hawkins (ULEI). Secondment host: BASF.

ESR13. Specifically functionalized dendrimers for catalysis in special media. Co-directors: Rosa Maria Sebastián (UAB), Anne-Marie Caminade (LCC). Secondment host: HIBSA.

ESR14. Reactivity and catalytic chemistry of Ge/Si-H bonds at metal centres. Co-directors: Mary Grellier (LCC), Jason Lynam and John Slattery (UoY). Secondment host: JM.

ESR15. CO2 Transformations catalysed by N-Heterocylic Carbene (NHC) systems. Co-directors: Olivier Baslé and Sébastien Bontemps (LCC), Agustí Lledós (UAB). Secondment host: SOLV.  This project has received funding from the European Union’

—————–Quick Overview————-
Organization Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant
Country France, UK, Spain, Romania, Poland, Germany, Denmark
Fellowship Level Doctoral
Subject areas Chemistry
Fellowship amount As per MSCA rules
Eligibility Open to all nationalities
Deadline Varies

Company Information
  • Total Jobs 113 Jobs
  • Address Europe
Connect with us

ASTAR: International Fellowship (Postdoc)

The Agency for Science, Technology and Research (ASTAR) is Singapore’s escort public segment group that spearheads financial-oriented research to advance

Victoria Doctoral Scholarships: 110 Scholarships

The Victoria University of Wellington is offering Victoria Doctoral Scholarships approximately 110 in number each year to encourage postgraduate research

VISTA Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellowship

The VISTA Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellowship is being offered by York University. The fellowship will provide financial support to the highest

Postdoctoral Research Program: Canada

Postdoctoral Research Program: Canada The Government of Canada is inviting applications for its postdoctoral research program. Nationality: open for all

Faculty Positions at Indian Institute of Technology, Dhanbad

Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad invites applications from Indian nationals including Persons of Indian Origins (PIOs)

Canadian Francophonie Scholarship Program (CFSP)

Canadian Francophonie Scholarship Program (CFSP) OVERVIEW The Canadian Francophonie Scholarship Program (CFSP) is a scholarship program designed to build institutional

ERCIM Post-Doc Fellowship program: European countries

ERCIM Alain Bensoussan Fellowship Programme is supported by the FP7 Marie Curie Actions – People, Co-funding of Regional, National and

Canada Government Fellowships: Bachelors, Masters PhD, Postdoc

Email Me Jobs Like These Showing 1–10 of 255 jobs VISTA Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellowship PostDoc Canada  March 4, 2022 View more31 mins

Government of Canada: Postdoctoral Research Program (PRP)

The Postdoctoral Research Program (PRP) is an international and horizontal program that provides promising new scientists access to unique world-class

Japanese Government: MEXT Scholarships

Japanese Government; The Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) offers scholarships to international students who seek to

Subscribe by email

Subscribe by Telegram