United kingdom: Newcastle University 903 views


United kingdom: Newcastle University

About Us

United kingdom: Newcastle University: University of Newcastle upon Tyne is the official name of Newcastle University. It is a public research university located in the North-East of England. The university has its origins to a School of Medicine and Surgery which later became the College of Medicine, established in 1834. And to the College of Physical Science which later was renamed Armstrong College, founded in 1871.

These two colleges came to form one division of the federal University of Durham. The Newcastle colleges merged to form King’s College in 1937. In 1963, by an Act of Parliament, King’s College became the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.

Newcastle University is a member of the Russell Group, an association of prestigious research-intensive UK universities. The university has one of the largest research portfolios in the UK. Newcastle attracts over 20,000 students from more than 120 different countries.

Teaching and research are delivered in 24 academic schools and 40 research institutes and research centers, spread across 3 Faculties:

  1. the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences;
  2. the Faculty of Medical Sciences; and
  3. the Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering.

The university offers programs across a range of disciplines. It offers:

  • 175 full-time undergraduate degree programs
  • 340 postgraduate taught and research programs.

Faculties and schools

Teaching schools within the university are based within three faculties.

Each faculty is led by a Pro-vice-chancellor and a team of Deans with specific responsibilities.


·         Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

·         School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape

·         School of Arts and Cultures

·         Newcastle University Business School

·         Combined Honours Centre

·         School of Education, Communication and Language Sciences

·         School of English Literature, Language and Linguistics

·         School of Geography, Politics and Sociology

·         School of History, Classics and Archaeology

·         The Language Centre

·         Newcastle Law School

·         School of Modern Languages

·         Faculty of Medical Sciences

·         Newcastle Biomedicine

·         School of Biomedical Sciences

·         School of Dental Sciences

·         School of Medical Education

·         Postgraduate Institute for Medicine and Dentistry

·         School of Psychology

·         Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering

·         School of Agriculture, Food and Rural Development

·         School of Biology

·         School of Chemical Engineering and Advanced Materials

·         School of Chemistry

·         School of Civil Engineering and Geosciences

·         School of Computing Science

·         School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

·         School of Marine Science and Technology

·         School of Mathematics and Statistics

·         School of Mechanical and Systems Engineering